You are here
Home > Hair loss prevention > Stages of Hair Loss

stages of hair loss

Though common to the hilt amongst most men and few women, baldness is still considered something utterly shameful to happen to a person. It takes long for people to realize and accept the fact that they are going bald. When the realizations dawns, some take it in their stride, while others try their might to get this hideous spectacle cured.

Despite the many cases of baldness and researches carried upon, there has been seen a kind of discrepancy in the situation when it comes to the age when baldness sets in. While some males start losing hair in their twenties, there are others who do not show any signs of hair loss or baldness up until their late fifties.

Stage I – Stage I is the normal scalp and hair growth with no visible signs of hair loss.

Stage II – Stage II starts showing the receding hairline, which forms a wedge-like pattern.

Stage III – Stage III is a continual recession of the hairline as in Stage II, except that it is deeper here, receding to the frontal and temporal region of the scalp also.

Stage IV – Stage IV shows signs of a further dramatic and severe receding of the hairline, particularly in the frontal and temporal region of the scalp. The point to be noticed here is that even though the balding has begun at the top center of the head, there remains a bridge between the front and the top yet.

Stage V – In this stage, the bridge between the top and the front begins to thin.

Stage VI
– Stage VI is where the bridge between the frontal and vertex of the scalp vanishes altogether.

Stage VII – The hair recede further back to the scalp, remaining confined to only the base of the head and the sides, above the ears.

There are many products in the markets, which are quite effective in solving the problem of the hair loss and baldness. While, there are a few phases that can actually reap benefit from these products, there are other phases of baldness, which need a more severe action. However, the point is that how does one recognize which phase they are undergoing and what is the set modus operandi for them? The solution emerged in the name of Dr. James Hamilton in the 1950’s, which was later developed further and advertised by another doctor named Dr O’Tar Norwood in the 1970’s.
With a scale developed by the above mentioned two doctors, it became extremely easy to identify the progression of male baldness, while measuring the extent and pattern of it. Known as the Hamilton-Norwood scale of evaluating hair loss, the scale is divided into seven stages. With the progression of each stage, the severity of the baldness increases.

Many people seen asking a question – what is the use of identifying which stage of hair loss or baldness we are undergoing? The fact is that identification of the extent of the problem can in fact help get the right treatment at the right time. Once you identify with your stage, you can perform a thorough research on the hair loss and balding facts; solve any issues related to your lifestyle. Contact a doctor and get the treatment and medication, which are quite effective in the earlier stages (Stage II to Stage V), while helping little in the last few stages. For getting the last few stages treated, you can try transplants and surgical options, which have been giving amazing results thee past few years. This is what you can do once you identify the problem and its size.

Once you are aware of your problem, finding the right solution merely requires a little look around and awareness. Once this is achieved, the bad or no hair days will be well past!

Leave a Reply